Diamonds, wedding rings, Diamond Engagement Rings, platinum engagement rings, fine jewelry, bracelets, buying diamonds, gemstone jewelry, sterling silver jewelry, jewelry


Selecting Diamonds Is Easy
When You Know This


Diamonds are graded for certification by laboratories using a time tested grading criteria. Four of these criteria are critical to understand when making a diamond purchase or investment. Of course they are known as the 4 C's of Diamonds. They are the: diamond cut, diamond color, diamond clarity and the diamond carat weight.

Color is the result of the composition of a diamond and it does not change unless of course, it is treated by one of the many diamond treatments sweeping the industry.

When a jeweler describes the color of a diamond they are referring to the presence or absence of color in white diamonds.

Because a diamond with no color allows maximum light to pass through, colorless diamonds are preferred for their sparkle. See Round Brilliant Cut Diamonds.

The diamond cut refers to a diamonds reflective quality. Most diamonds are cut with 58 facets. It is important to note: the brilliance of a diamond is heavily dependent on the cut.

The different angles and the finish of a diamond determine its ability to reflect light and cause its brilliance and fire. Remember that the cut of a diamond can have an impact on its durability as well as its beauty. Some cutting faults can make a diamond prone to breakage.

A diamond that is cut too thin can also cause light to leak out of the back and the diamond will lose some of the sparkle and appear not to shine. So, as you can see the Cut is probably the most important of the 4 C's of diamonds.

During the formation process, inner flaws, or inclusions occur in most diamonds. The number and size of these inclusions determine what is referred to as the clarity of a diamond. Diamonds that are clear create more brilliance and therefore are rarer and highly priced.

To be considered "flawless", a diamond must have no surface or internal imperfections visible upon being viewed by a skilled diamond grader using 10 power magnifications.

Carat is the unit of weight by which diamonds are measured. One carat is equal to 200 milligrams. A carat is divided into 100 segments called points. 150 points would equal one and a half carats.

When you go to the store to make that all important diamond purchase, for heaven's sake don't be shy! Ask questions and get the answers you need to make an informed decision. Shopping for Bonded Diamonds and certified diamonds may be a little more expensive, but they enable you to make an informed selection.

Knowing the "4 C's of diamonds" allows you to comparison shop and purchase the best diamond possible at a fair price. But, before making a purchase, shop around and decide what shapes and styles really appeal to you. Enjoy your diamond for years to come!

Vicente Ross is a certified diamond buyer and appraiser who travels the globe seeking incredible deals on Diamond Engagement RingsBrilliant Cut Diamonds, Antique Diamond Engagement Rings, Unique Diamond Engagement Rings and other Fine Jewelry and shares his finds and expertise on his information packed website 

Source: Vicente Ross,



Round Brilliant Cut Diamond

Black Diamonds

Diamond Earrings